Wednesday, 17 June 2015

Vienna

When we got to Vienna, we managed to get to our hotel before it began raining. And lightening. And thundering. Basically the full works. So we dashed to the vegetarian restaurant next door, and we stayed in the restaurant so long after we finished eating our tea that the lady who works there ended up bringing us free dessert, so that was nice! Afterwards we decided to call it a night. We couldn’t go anywhere in that weather, so we chose to catch up with some TV (oh, btw, Abbi RUINED Hollyoaks for me, I am very sad).

The next day, we went to the zooooo! Vienna’s zoo is the oldest zoo in the world and claimed to be the ‘best in Europe’. I’m not even joking, I totally agree. Not like I’ve been to every one in Europe, but it was amazing. It was such a perfect zoo. The enclosures were amazing, the animals seemed really happy, and it was just amazing. I also got to see my first polar bears! They were chilling outside, and it suddenly started pouring it down outside, so we ran into the bit where you could see them in the water, not expecting them to appear, but all of a sudden one dived in!!! It made me jump SO much, but it was amazing. They swam down to the bottom to get some fish, and it was all so beautiful. It’s probably the highlight of my trip. It was so unexpected; I just loved it so much. I had to buy a postcard thing of polar bears in the shop afterwards – and a pen, of course - Got to get a zoo pen.
The weather held out pretty well to be fair. There were a few downpours, but nothing that ruined our day. I want to go back! It was amazing. I just wish I could have read all of the information bits, because they were all in bloody German, or Austrian, whatever they speak, they were all in that.

Because the zoo is on the palace grounds, it was only right that we had a wander around the rest of the grounds.
It was HUGE! The grounds were beautiful though, it’s definitely somewhere that I’d have liked to take a picnic or something. It’s so quiet and pretty :)

We’re on the train to Croatia as I’m typing this (CROAAATIAAA!), so I am very excited, although a little sleepy because it take 7 hours… zzzzz. But I have a sandwich and peaches to get me through. I would have sweets, but they’re up on the luggage shelf thing, and I’m scared that my bag will land on my head if I even try and get it down. Pff.
Anyway, enough rambling. CROATIA!
Please keep your fingers crossed for us that the Vienna weather doesn’t not follow us.

P.s. Sarah, I’m on to three bags!
P.p.s. Nanny, I bought you a present :)
P.p.s. Wayne, try a bounty milkshake if you can!
P.p.p.s. Keeley, have a slice of cake for me – I am very jealous! P.p.p.p.s. Mum, please don’t destroy my bedroom.
P.p.p.p.p.s. Seriously, do not destroy my bedroom.

No comments:

Post a Comment