Sunday, 28 June 2015

Venice


After an absolutely horrendous night train journey, which included 4 hours on a train station floor and 4 hours following that of sat awkwardly in a 6 seater couchette, we finally reached Venice and NESSA AND RYAN! We were all v v v excited (although me and Alice were also extremely tired), and went to our little room to freshen up before we headed into Venice.

Nessa told us beforehand about the mass of water when you go into Venice, but even being told about it, I was not expecting there to be SO much. It’s like crossing the sea to get to an island… well I supposed it is just that.

It’s just so pretty. No cars are allowed, so there are water taxis and water ambulances and everything, it’s like a strange little water land.

We wandered about for a bit trying to find San Marco square (with a pizza stop off on the way, of course, mm), turned out that we’d already been in San Marco square without even knowing what it was, so that was fun… Haaha, such sausages.
We then bought some gelato and sat by the water and ate them whilst watching the boats pass by :)
On our way back to the hotel we got very, very lost. Venice is made up a back streets and alleys and random big empty square of nothing, it’s so difficult to navigate around. So that took us a good 2 hours and another ice cream. But we MADE IT! And then went to Mcdonalds. Of course.

On our second day (well, Nessa and Ryan’s third), we headed out with a mission of pizza, gondola and gelato! Best day ever! Oh, and a second mission of not getting as lost as we did the day before.
We managed to find a gondola on one of the many, many, many canals, and paid for a 30 minute ride with a nice (and good looking) Italian man. The ride was so nice and relaxing. Even Nessa who hates boats and gets sea sick loved it. It’s so smooth and lovely! I think we would all agree that we would have gone on one again if it was much cheaper, but ah well, we had the experience and loved it :) aww, gondolagondola.
We then went back to San Marco square and got another icecream (we’re in Italy, okay?!). I got mint choc chip and cookies and cream, yummmm. I think it was my favourite icecream there. Although I did really love my mango one that we got on our way back to the hotel from a random little shop.

On the last day we say our goodbyes to Alice as she left for home, had a fun fun few train journeys back and forth to try and get to a certain place, decided we didn’t want to pay that much to get into said certain place, and ended up back in Venice eating pizza and gelato again. Because, when in Venice!

No comments:

Post a Comment